Statistical Inference

share ›
‹ links

Below are the top discussions from Reddit that mention this online Coursera course from Johns Hopkins University.

Statistical inference is the process of drawing conclusions about populations or scientific truths from data.

Statistics Statistical Inference Statistical Hypothesis Testing

Reddsera may receive an affiliate commission if you enroll in a paid course after using these buttons to visit Coursera. Thank you for using these buttons to support Reddsera.

Taught by
Brian Caffo, PhD
Professor, Biostatistics
and 2 more instructors

Offered by
Johns Hopkins University

Reddit Posts and Comments

0 posts • 16 mentions • top 5 shown below

r/AskAcademia • comment
15 points • needlzor

I sort of caught up with a mixture of some very good MOOCs:

And working through my own statistical problems by asking people on stats.stackexchange and other forums.

r/statistics • comment
1 points • NicNic8

Coursera has a class on statistical inference: https://www.coursera.org/learn/statistical-inference

Also, I highly recommend the book Doing Bayesian Analysis (it has four puppies on the cover).

r/datascience • comment
2 points • _tantra_mantra

In that case take a course on statistical Inference https://www.coursera.org/learn/statistical-inference and an introductory course on Database management https://www.coursera.org/learn/database-management after learning about SQL go to hackerank and solve their SQL problems to have a good grasp on effectively using SQL to fetch the data you want from database. Consider learning a programming language also python highly recommended.

r/learndatascience • comment
1 points • ticktocktoe

I think that's a fair thing to learn - I would probably suggest breaking it down into smaller components instead of just taking an umbrella course like this (alternatively, if you have money and time to spare, this is probably going to be a solid intro - but I think you need to take it a few steps further.)

  • Experimental/Study Design/Hypothesis testing

https://www.khanacademy.org/math/statistics-probability/designing-studies

  • Statistical Sampling

Don't know a good moog for this one sorry, although I always recommend the GOAT statistical course/books:

Introduction to Statistical Learning/Elements of Statistical Learning

https://lagunita.stanford.edu/courses/HumanitiesSciences/StatLearning/Winter2016/about

  • Statistical Inference

https://www.coursera.org/learn/statistical-inference

  • Causal Inference

https://www.coursera.org/learn/crash-course-in-causality

I think a lot this is covered in the following specialization:

https://www.coursera.org/specializations/jhu-data-science?utm_medium=listingPage#courses

r/programming • comment
3 points • jlemien

Yes, there are many free courses that you can use to learn the prerequisite mathematics. KhanAcademy would be my first recommendation, but you can also try some of these:

Inferential Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/inferential-statistics

Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis https://www.coursera.org/learn/bayesian-statistics

Inferential Statistics Intro https://www.coursera.org/learn/inferential-statistics-intro

Bayesian Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/bayesian

Basic Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/basic-statistics

Introduction to Probability https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-probability-science-mitx-6-041x-2

Introduction to Linear Models and Matrix Algebra https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-linear-models-matrix-harvardx-ph525-2x-2

Intro to Descriptive Statistics https://www.udacity.com/course/intro-to-descriptive-statistics--ud827

Intro to Inferential Statistics https://www.udacity.com/course/intro-to-inferential-statistics--ud201

Mathematics for Computer Science https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/electrical-engineering-and-computer-science/6-042j-mathematics-for-computer-science-fall-2010/index.htm

An Intuitive Introduction to Probability https://www.coursera.org/learn/introductiontoprobability

Statistical Inference https://www.coursera.org/learn/statistical-inference

College Algebra and Problem Solving https://www.edx.org/course/college-algebra-problem-solving-asux-mat117x

Precalculus https://www.edx.org/course/precalculus-asux-mat170x