Bayesian Statistics

share ›
‹ links

Below are the top discussions from Reddit that mention this online Coursera course from Duke University.

This course describes Bayesian statistics, in which one's inferences about parameters or hypotheses are updated as evidence accumulates.

Bayesian Statistics Bayesian Linear Regression Bayesian Inference R Programming

Reddsera may receive an affiliate commission if you enroll in a paid course after using these buttons to visit Coursera. Thank you for using these buttons to support Reddsera.

Taught by
Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel
Associate Professor of the Practice
and 3 more instructors

Offered by
Duke University

Reddit Posts and Comments

1 posts • 6 mentions • top 5 shown below

r/statistics • post
29 points • not_rico_suave
Coursera just created a Bayesian Statistics course that starts in July
r/MachineLearning • comment
13 points • wind_of_amazingness

  • Part of "Statistics with R" specialization. I can recommend it to someone who has fair knowledge of confidence intervals, hypthesis testing etc. since it does a great job in comparing classical statistical methods with their Bayesian counterparts: https://www.coursera.org/learn/bayesian/home/welcome

  • Nice class that teaches you basic stuff about how MCMC works and lets you play with it in JAGS: https://www.coursera.org/learn/mcmc-bayesian-statistics/home/welcome

  • This is big, quite complex specialization that teaches about graphical models that have knowledge engineering, priors and Bayesian inference as their primary ways of building and training the models. It does go over MCMC. I would not recommend this specialization to someone who wants to start learning, but someone who is fairly familiar with MCMC and variational inference would find a lot of cool stuff in PGMs that were "the best thing" before deep learning revolution: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/probabilistic-graphical-models

  • Bayesian Methods for Hackers is an easy to read book (available online as a github repo with all source code) that shows some of the tricks that are extremely difficult to pull off if you are using more commonplace MLE methods. This is highly recommended: https://github.com/CamDavidsonPilon/Probabilistic-Programming-and-Bayesian-Methods-for-Hackers

r/statistics • comment
1 points • ruslankl

I ended this Coursera course on Bayesian statistics link. It's paid (as a part of Statistics Specialization) but you can still watch videos for free.

r/statistics • comment
1 points • BlueDevilStats

No worries. I think DS Math Skills is ok if you want a review of very basic math topics, but there are better courses by Duke:

Introduction to Probability and Data Inferential Statistics Bayesian Statistics Linear Regression and Modeling

r/programming • comment
3 points • jlemien

Yes, there are many free courses that you can use to learn the prerequisite mathematics. KhanAcademy would be my first recommendation, but you can also try some of these:

Inferential Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/inferential-statistics

Bayesian Statistics: From Concept to Data Analysis https://www.coursera.org/learn/bayesian-statistics

Inferential Statistics Intro https://www.coursera.org/learn/inferential-statistics-intro

Bayesian Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/bayesian

Basic Statistics https://www.coursera.org/learn/basic-statistics

Introduction to Probability https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-probability-science-mitx-6-041x-2

Introduction to Linear Models and Matrix Algebra https://www.edx.org/course/introduction-linear-models-matrix-harvardx-ph525-2x-2

Intro to Descriptive Statistics https://www.udacity.com/course/intro-to-descriptive-statistics--ud827

Intro to Inferential Statistics https://www.udacity.com/course/intro-to-inferential-statistics--ud201

Mathematics for Computer Science https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/electrical-engineering-and-computer-science/6-042j-mathematics-for-computer-science-fall-2010/index.htm

An Intuitive Introduction to Probability https://www.coursera.org/learn/introductiontoprobability

Statistical Inference https://www.coursera.org/learn/statistical-inference

College Algebra and Problem Solving https://www.edx.org/course/college-algebra-problem-solving-asux-mat117x

Precalculus https://www.edx.org/course/precalculus-asux-mat170x